The Nine University Newsletter
The Nine University Newsletter
WHY I do THIS
3
0:00
-5:14

WHY I do THIS

3

What’s up fam. Taylor here.

The past couple of days we’ve gone through several things – all mindset related.  Around how to get over fear, what to prioritize, how to prioritize it, how to prevent fear from coming into our business and lives and how to overcome that fear.

And what I’d like to do today is to actually try my best to put into an email/episode as to why I do this. 

When Kale and I started our Amazon business over 3 years ago, my goal was actually super simple.  My wife and I wanted to start a family, we wanted to buy a house instead of living in an apartment.  We had been saving up money for a down payment on a house – and that was my initial fund for our Amazon business.  It was risky, it was scary, it was a leap of faith, but we went for it.

And thankfully, it blew up quicker then we could possibly have guessed.  I went out, bought myself a car, bought my wife a car, have savings, have investments, did all the “traditional” things/dreams/goals that people have when you start a business.

But now – between Kale and I we own multiple businesses, we have a bunch of employees, we have a ton of people that we help – what keeps me going today?

Just like we’ve talked about on YouTube and inside of Nine University – I have my own vision board. I’ve been able to accomplish some of those things this year, and I will accomplish several more of those things over the next year or two. One of them was buying my dad a car.  He’s always dreamed of owning a Corvette – and in June – I bought him a Corvette, drove it to his house and handed him the keys. That was a huge push, a huge win, a huge dream come true.  He’s always wanted it, and for years haven’t been able to even remotely get close to it, so I got to do it for him.

I tell you that above not to brag, not to be arrogant – but to show you where my mind and my thoughts and my dreams have shifted.  They aren’t on me anymore, they’re on other people – and when I can wake up in the morning thinking about other people (is this sounding familiar to something that was sent a few days ago?!?) it moves me – it motivates me – it inspires me.

I’ll go through some of my other goals – but before I do, I just want to say that just because these are my dreams and goals do NOT mean they should be yours.  You care about different people then I do, yourself and those other people have different dreams then I do – maybe some of them are the same, maybe they’re completely different.  But there should be a few constants between my dreams and yours – 1. They should absolutely push you – seem a little bit unreasonable – so that they push you to put in those extra hours, the extra work.  And 2. They should be things that you don’t struggle to think about when you wake up, or when you’re having a bad day, or when you’re frustrated.

1.       One of my dreams is to be able to buy 3 “super cars” – like a new Ferrari, maybe a new Porsche, maybe a new Corvette – not sure exactly (I should actually spend some time thinking about this, as the more thought out your dreams are the more motivation they hold) – and take a several week roadtrip with my dad and my brother.  We start somewhere, kinda sorta map out a bunch of places we’d love to go, and just drive.  It’s something we’ve talked about for years, and it would be incredible.

2.       I have this crazy idea of a ridiculous month long trip for myself and my wife – go to Seattle for a few days, then Alaska for a few days, then Japan for a few days, then Australia for a few days, then Hawaii for a few days, then LA for a few days, then back.  And yes, those locations and that trip would be incredible – but what would make it even more incredible is not scheduling it out quite like I laid it out above – have no deadline.  No date that we have to be back by.  So if we go to Japan and wanna stay longer, we just do.  If we get to Hawaii and wanna stay longer there, then just do it. Whatever we want, we do it.

3.       As soon as my child (and the one that’s on the way) are old enough to remember – take them on all the trips my parents could never afford to take me on.  I never went to Disneyworld.  I never went to Europe, hell my first time on a plane I was 22.  Ossie went on a plane when he was 4 months old! All of those trips that every parent would love to take their children on – I want to take them on, as many times as we can.

4.       Probably my biggest one – is that I want to help people that I don’t know.  One of the ways I want to do this – is that I want to be able to go to the pastor of my church and hand him a check for $1 million. I’m quite a ways off from being able to do this, but I always think about this and think about how incredible it would be.  I’d love one year for Thanksgiving to be able to say – you know what, anyone in Pittsburgh who doesn’t have a turkey, who doesn’t have food, I’ll just pay for it.  It’s going to be 100s of thousands if not millions – I wanna be able to do it.

5.       I want to do whatever I have to do to be at home with my children as they grow up.  I never want to miss a first step, a first word, throwing a baseball or a football or whatever they want to do.  I never want to miss a game, miss a practice, I want to see them, watch them grow up, and love them like no one else can except for a present parent.

6.       One that I’ve already started – is to set up a college fund for each child that we have.  This one is a little interesting, but I want to get a least a quarter million dollars in a fund for every child I have or will have by the time they’re 16-17.  If they want to go to college, it’s paid for, anywhere in the country or world for that matter.  If they don’t want to go to college, I won’t just give them the money, but they will have start up capital for just about any business they could possibly dream up.  I want to give my children opportunities, open doors for them, give them everything I never had without ever spoiling them, having them be “trust fund babies”, etc.

Those are the main 6.  That’s what I think about when I get up in the mornings.  That’s what drives me to do everything from answering questions about Amazon to write these emails.  Get yourself powerful, meaningful goals.  It changes everything.

Love you guys.  Every single one of you. 

Taylor

What have you got for ME?

Leave me a comment if you are enjoying these letters.

Leave me a comment if you hate them (I can take it)

Leave a comment

Subscribe if you want to get this 5x per week (it’s cheap)

Don’t subscribe if you hate making money.

Subscribe now

Share this if you think someone else would benefit.

Don’t share it if you think we’re annoying.

Share The Nine University Newsletter

3 Comments
The Nine University Newsletter
The Nine University Newsletter
Actual HELPFUL and PRACTICAL info on Amazon FBA, Making Money, and Living Life to the Fullest.