The Nine University Newsletter
The Nine University Newsletter
Why GOALS should NOT be about yourself
3
0:00
-4:08

Why GOALS should NOT be about yourself

3

Taylor here – what’s up fam.

What are your goals? What do you want to accomplish not just through an Amazon business or whatever you’re working on currently – what do you truly want to accomplish in your lifetime?

Buy your dream house? Buy a cool car? Travel? Help your parents? Give your children the life you never had? Or something else? Pay off debt? Pay off medical bills?

All of those things are worthy, all of those things are amazing, and all of those things are incredible goals – and there are plenty of other goals you could have that could drive you.

But when we talk about goals, there is one thing that I want to go over for today’s version of “get inside taylor’s head about mindset.”

Are those your goals and dreams because they sound cool? Or because they get you out of bed in the morning? And this isn’t a rhetorical question, it’s a real one – because for some people the thought of buying a Lamborghini sounds really cool, but it doesn’t get them up in the morning.  And for some people, buying a Lamborghini sounds really cool and also gets them up in the morning.

I ask that question because whatever the answer is to, “What will literally make you get out of bed in the morning and keep you excited?” – that’s what you real goal – your real dream is.

Imagine it’s cold, rainy, overcast outside.  You’re in bed, it’s nice and comfy and warm. You have your alarm set for 5am, because you want to get in some work on your business before you have to get ready and get on your laptop/go to work. (for some of you this is really hitting home – props to you).

You stayed up til 1am talking to suppliers, and you got a few hours of sleep and that 5am alarm sounds off. Whatcha gonna do? Roll over, turn the alarm off and wake up for the one of the other 7 alarms you set for later times because you knew this was gonna happen? Or roll over, turn the alarm off – and while you may not be happy about it, get up out of bed, maybe take a shower, brush your teeth, grab a redbull or a cup of coffee and get to work?

There’s a BIG reason why some people do the first scenario, and why some people do the second scenario – and it’s simply their why.  Why are you doing whatever you’re doing? I’m talking specifically in this email – why are you building your Amazon business?

What is so important in your life that you’re willing to do things for it that most other people aren’t willing to do at all? What goal or dream do you have that literally is the first thing you think about when you wake up and the last thing you think about before going to bed?

If you’re sitting there and reading/listening to this and you don’t have something like that – it’s okay, that’s why I’m here 😊

I absolutely love cars – growing up my dad had a car shop, I’ve seen lots of cool cars, driven a bunch of them – but cars don’t wake me up in the morning.

A super dope house with a dope man cave and a pool table and a ping pong table and a pool? Sooo dope but that doesn’t get me going in the morning. But the flip side – is that house with a huge yard for my kid(s) to run around in? That is starting to get me there.

Travelling is incredible – and here’s where another turn is – where the shift happens – but the PLACES don’t get me up and going in the morning – but the memories created do.

What I’m trying to get across is that your why – your dreams – will be SO much more powerful if you can make them about other people – not about yourself.

I want to help my mom, my dad, my family, I want to provide for my wife and children. I want to give them the best, because they deserve the best and have supported me relentlessly – and honestly when I wake up in the morning and when I go to bed at night, that is what I’m thinking about – my wife laying next to me, my son in the room over, my mom in her condo and my dad at his house. 

See the problem is that we as humans are honestly quite self-deprecating. If something is for ourselves, we’re willing to put it on the backburner, willing to compromise our own work ethic and efforts for it – we’re willing to hit the snooze button (even though according to health experts, the snooze button is extremely detrimental to how you feel, particularly in the mornings).

But when we aren’t thinking about ourselves, and thinking about other people – we naturally are willing to go out of our way, above and beyond for the people that we love and care about.  Or we should be anyway – if everyone did the world would be a much better place.

The fact is – if you’re struggling with your why – you’re struggling with the desire to quit – it means your dreams and goals aren’t powerful enough, and the way that I know of to get past that – is turn your goals and dreams to other people. It works. Just ask my wife 😊

Love ya,

Taylor

What have you got for ME?

Leave me a comment if you are enjoying these letters.

Leave me a comment if you hate them (I can take it)

Leave a comment

Subscribe if you want to get this 5x per week (it’s cheap)

Don’t subscribe if you hate making money.

Subscribe now

Share this if you think someone else would benefit.

Don’t share it if you think we’re annoying.

Share The Nine University Newsletter

3 Comments
The Nine University Newsletter
The Nine University Newsletter
Actual HELPFUL and PRACTICAL info on Amazon FBA, Making Money, and Living Life to the Fullest.