The Nine University Newsletter
The Nine University Newsletter
Break it down – STEP by STEP
2
0:00
-4:03

Break it down – STEP by STEP

2

Taylor here – what’s up fam.

I sent an email yesterday about the one thing it takes to build an Amazon business – I hope you read it/listened to it, if you didn’t I’ll give you the spoiler alert – it’s persistence.  It’s the grind. The mindset of never giving up, never quitting, never stopping because whatever you’re working for is worth it.

And now I’m here today with some more deliciously good mindset talk – I hope you’re enjoying it 😊

I want to talk to you about one of the biggest mistakes that people make – and one of the reasons why people let some negative thoughts – or a negative mindset over power their positive mindset – their why, their drive.

Ready for it?

Focus.

Last email I typed up/said this: “Is it the how-to’s? The how-to do product research? The how-to start an LLC? The how-to get approved for a seller central account? The how-to negotiate with a supplier? The how-to optimize a listing? The how-to find keywords for a PPC campaign? The how-to optimize said PPC campaign? The how-to get initial sales and reviews?”

A bunch of the “how-to’s” that when you first get started or are even working to scale that get in people’s heads.  It’s a lot to learn, it’s a lot to focus on, it’s a lot to take in. And I’ll give you an example of something that happened in the past week that really drove me to look into it more.

One of our friends is building an Amazon business.  She hasn’t started selling yet, and we were talking about she began to ask me a series of questions that went a lot like this.

“Hey, so I’m doing this with my mom, and we need to set up an LLC and tax stuff – how do I do that?”

And then

“And what about a business bank account and a business credit card? How do I get those?”

And then

“Well myself and my mom are partners so how do we do all of this with both of us?

And then

“If I wanted to sell a bundle, but I have to get it from two different suppliers, how do you get them in the same package so that I can sell it as a bundle on Amazon?”

And then

“And with suppliers – what happens if there’s only a few of them? How do we find more suppliers so we can try to quote them against each other?”

And then

“And with PPC – where are you getting those keywords from”

And then

“If I’m using Helium 10 Black Box for product research, what filters should I use? How do you even filter them?”

To be completely fair – those questions are slightly dramatic and slightly out of order, but it went something like that.  And my question to you – is am I the only person that sees the huge flaw in that line of questioning?

She hasn’t started selling on Amazon yet for one reason – she hasn’t found a product yet.  And from my experience, NOTHING ELSE MATTERS at the moment in time for her business.

Yes – LLC’s and bank accounts and the entire business/accounting/tax side of things is important, don’t get me wrong – but we all have to realize that none of this matters until you have MADE MONEY.

Anything to do with suppliers doesn’t matter until you have found a product.  Anything with keywords for PPC or a listing doesn’t matter until we’ve found a product and negotiated with sellers.

There is never a stupid question – but in my opinion the only question that really mattered was the last one – and even then – I’m going to use different filters on something like Helium 10’s blackbox because my situation is different from hers.

In order to build anything – a business, an Amazon FBA business, a YouTube channel, a Shopify store, an Etsy store – literally anything at all in life – FOCUS is what takes you to the next level.  And what focus REALLY means – is deciding what you need to be focusing on right now, and working relentlessly on that with passion, determination, and fervor.

If you haven’t found a product yet, your only concern and focus should be product research.

If you’ve found a product, your concern and focus should be decided by where you are at. If you have a product and no supplier – focus on supplier negotiation.  If you have negotiated with your supplier, then focus on the shipping plan and your amazon listing.  If you have an amazon listing, focus on initial sales and reviews.  If you have initial sales and reviews – focus on scaling, ranking and PPC.  If you’ve done that, then simply start the process over again either through variations or new products.

Building something sustainable isn’t an elevator that goes straight to the top – and we don’t have to force feed ourselves information at a rate that we can’t handle.  Building something sustainable is a staircase, and each step is just as important as the last.  Because if we try to jump up 4, 5 or even 15 steps at a time, all we’re going to do is fall back down to the bottom.

I hope that makes sense.

Love ya,

Taylor

What have you got for ME?

Leave me a comment if you are enjoying these letters.

Leave me a comment if you hate them (I can take it)

Leave a comment

Subscribe if you want to get this 5x per week (it’s cheap)

Don’t subscribe if you hate making money.

Subscribe now

Share this if you think someone else would benefit.

Don’t share it if you think we’re annoying.

Share The Nine University Newsletter

2 Comments
The Nine University Newsletter
The Nine University Newsletter
Actual HELPFUL and PRACTICAL info on Amazon FBA, Making Money, and Living Life to the Fullest.